CITY2 draw 1-1 with Earthquakes II, fall in shootout


In their final regular-season match at Hermann Stadium this year, St Louis CITY2 earned a draw against San Jose Earthquakes II, but it was the away team that gained an additional point per MLS NEXT Pro rules after winning 4-3 in a shootout.

Both teams started the match with high intensity, as they battled to control the rhythm early on. Tactically, the teams’ defensive structure made it difficult for the attackers to find space in behind, which meant much of the action was played in midfield. CITY2 had a few moments of brilliance going forward and could have opened the scoring but was unable to find the first goal to alter the score line heading into the halftime break.

St Louis CITY2 Head Coach John Hackworth made a few substitutions at the half, with Vitor Dias and Kwame Awuah brought in to sure up the CITY2 team. It didn’t take long for Dias to get in on the action, with the midfielder latching on to a pass from Ben Di Rosa before scoring the game’s first and his third goal of the season. With the CITY2 fans still cheering on their team’s goal, Earthquakes II won a freekick on the edge of the box. Earthquakes II forward Rodolfo Castro Jr. stepped up and equalized for the away team.

Following the goal, CITY2 ramped up the pressure, creating numerous opportunities to take the lead, but they had to settle for a draw on the day. Per MLS NEXT Pro rules, the teams went to a shootout with Earthquakes II earning the additional point.


St Louis CITY2 return to Ralph Korte Stadium on Saturday, June 4 as they take on Houston Dynamo 2.


STL: 46’ – Vitor Dias (Ben Di Rosa)

SJ: 49’ – Rodolfo Castro Jr.


Ian McGrane, Ben Di Rosa, Josh Yaro, Kyle Hiebert, Akil Watts, Max Scheider, AJ Palazzolo (Kwame Awuah 46’), Wan Kuzain (Sergio Rivas 83’), Aaron Heard (Vitor Dias 46’), Célio Pompeu, Josh Dolling

To learn more about St Louis CITY2, please find all player bios and headshots in this link here. To stay up to date with St. Louis CITY SC, visit and follow the club on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.